Human Rights Lawyer, Adegboruwa, 37 Others Bag SAN Rank

By Ameh John

Nigeria’s foremost human rights lawyer, Ebun-Olu Adegboruwa and the Solicitor-General of the Federation (SGF) and Permanent Secretary, in the Federal Ministry of Justice, Adedayo Apata on Friday bagged the prestigious rank of Senior Advocate of Nigeria (SAN).


Announcing other beneficiaries of the SAN title at the Supreme Court complex in Abuja, the Chief Registrar of the apex court, Hadizatu Mustapha, who doubles as the Secretary of the Legal Practitioners’ Privileges Committee (LPPC), Mrs. Adedoyin Rhodes-Vivour, who is the wife of a Justice of the Supreme Court, Justice Bode Rhodes-Vivour.
Mustapha said, out of the 117 lawyers that applied for the title, 38 of them succeeded and were elevated by the LPPC at the committee’s 138th plenary session held on Thursday.

The successful candidates according to her, will be sworn-in at a ceremony marking the upcoming new 2019/2020 legal year of the apex court which will hold in September.

Others SAN-designates include: Abdullahi Haruna, Manga Nuruddeen, John Asoluka, Adedokun Makinde, Daniel Enwelum, Emmanuel Oyebanji, Tuduru Ede, Abdul Ajana, Ama Etuwewe, Oladipo Olasope, Leslie Olutayo Nylander, Olusegun Fowowe and Andrew Hutton.

They also include: Olukayode Enitan, Paul Ogbole, Olaniyi Olopade, Samuel Agweh, Olusegun Jolaawo, Prof. Alphonsus Alubo, Ayo Asala, Abiodun Olatunji, Olumide Aju, Chimezie Ihekweazu, Prof. Mamman Lawan, Prof. Uchefula Chukwumaeze, Usman Sule, Safiya Badamasi, and Echezona Etiaba.

The rest are Godwin Omoaka, Emeka Ozoani, Alexander Ejesieme, Jephthah Njikonye, Aikhunegbe Malik, Alhassan Umar and Oyetola Muyiwa.

Giving further insights into the exercise, the Chief Registrar disclosed that four of the 117 applicants were female, among whom two were successful.

Three academics are among the 38 successful candidates, while the rest of them are of the advocacy cadre.

While underscoring the basis for the award of the coveted title, Mustapha said, “The rank (SAN), is awarded as a mark of excellence to members of the legal profession who have distinguished themselves as advocates and academics.

“The swearing-in ceremony of the 38 legal practitioners will take place during the 2019/2020 new legal year of the Supreme Court scheduled for September 2019.”

Previous articleSocial Security: A Social Vices Eradication Tool, Says Expert
Next articleRUGA: ‘We Shall Respond Severely Should A Southerner Be Killed In The North’


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here